The criteria used for the selection of the areas for the co-operation measure in the new agri-environment scheme have been revealed by the Department of Agriculture.

Special Areas of Conservation (SACs), Special Protection Areas (SPAs), Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs) land designations, the offshore islands and a range of EIP schemes were the criteria chosen by the Department as priority areas for this part of the scheme, which targets 20,000 farmers.