All the latest opinion and comments on the Irish agricultural industry from the Farmers Journal editorial team.

LATEST ARTICLES
News
Opinion: food consumption needs as much debate as food production
Pat O'Toole
I'm not sure that Sean Sherlock's idea of a Citizen's Assembly is well-timed, but any broad forum on food must look at consumption as well as production.
3 August 2022 Viewpoints
Dempsey at Large: placing a lid on ag output
Somewhere, important policy influencers have done humanity and Irish farmers a gross disservice.
3 August 2022 Viewpoints
Colm McCarthy: ill-designed territorial targets
Global emissions, all that matters scientifically, could be increased by imposing ill-designed territorial production targets.
Home Farm: change in mid stream
We still have to get this year's oilseed rape harvested. We had made good progress last week ahead of the rain but the continuous rain on Saturday meant we couldn’t attempt to go near the field.
3 August 2022 Viewpoints
Many different options for young farmers
DAERA is working on a “generational renewal programme”, although it remains unclear just what it might entail.
3 August 2022 Northern Ireland
Fairness in the food supply chain remains central to the CAP
The CAP has and will continue to serve the people of Europe in an evolving way to help meet the changing needs of society, writes European Commissioner for Agriculture Janusz Wojciechowski.
3 August 2022 Opinion
Reflections on our journey into the EU
Matt Dempsey reflects on Ireland's and farming's journey through membership of the EEC and EU.
3 August 2022 Opinion
Opinion: I've never felt so patronised since I started to farm
Dealing with facts at a time of national debate is always a challenge, writes Longford dairy farmer Mike Magan.
2 August 2022 Opinion
A more balanced CAP needed for the future
Since our entry to the EEC in 1973, domestic agricultural policy has been almost entirely dominated by the CAP and the instruments available to achieve its objectives, writes Gerry Boyle.
2 August 2022 Opinion
Choices for farmers will mean less livestock
Farmers won't be forced to cut livestock numbers, but they will be forced to achieve a 25% cut in emissions.
31 July 2022 News
Europe’s future needs food production more than ever
Russia’s invasion of Ukraine has provided both the biggest ever justification for the creation of the EU and the biggest threat to its stability. Pat O’Toole examines the issues facing the EU at 75.
31 July 2022 Opinion
War will keep food security on the agenda
Food security has only occasionally been at the top of the political agenda in recent decades, but Tom Arnold believes that it will be slower to recede this time because of the complexity of war.
30 July 2022 Opinion